Parkers long-term car tests

  • Read all the latest updates from our long-term fleet of cars
  • We live with them day-to-day to really get under their skin
  • Fuel consumption carefully calculated from our real world driving
  • Read all the latest updates from our long-term fleet of cars
  • We live with them day-to-day to really get under their skin
  • Fuel consumption carefully calculated from our real world driving

The Parkers team has a fleet of cars that we use on a regular basis in order to find out exactly what they are like to live with.

This gives us a deeper insight into what you can expect from ownership, highlighting any problems that only appear after several thousand miles, and what fuel economy you'll get in the real world.

What's on the long-term test fleet right now


Adam Binnie’s Volkswagen Golf GTE

We take delivery of a VW Golf that comes with a great big plug socket on the front bumper. What's it for exactly? We find out.

Read more

Quick facts

Mileage: 66 (on arrival) 
Fuel consumption: 156mpg (claimed)
Latest update: 20 September 2017

Also read our full review


Tom Goodlad's Honda Civic

Tom is finding out if the 10th-gen Honda Civic is a worthy alternative to other small family hatchbacks with bold styling, a spacious interior and plenty of tech. 

Read more

Quick facts

Mileage: 5,403 miles
Fuel consumption: 41.8mpg
Latest update: 20 September 2017

Also read our full review of the Honda Civic


Christofer Lloyd's Mazda CX-5

Mazda CX-5

We're running the new version of Mazda's popular CX-5 off-roader to see how it stacks up. Christofer Lloyd will be sussing out how it compares with the tranche of rival SUVs on sale.

Read more

Quick facts

Mileage: 3,824
Fuel consumption: 42.8mpg
Latest update: 18 September 2017

Also read our full Mazda CX-5 SUV review


Stuart Collins’s Kia Optima Sportswagon

Kia Optima

We’ve taken delivery of this stylish Kia in Sportswagon form, and our photographer Stuart is already working it hard. So far, it’s being the perfect tool for his job!

Read more

Quick facts

Mileage: 14,556
Fuel consumption: 46.0mpg
Latest update: 15 September 2017

Also read our full Kia Sportswagon review


Gareth Evans’s Audi A6 Saloon

Audi A6 saloon 3.0 TDI V6 Quattro Black Edition long-term review

The A6 may be a relatively old model, but it boasts some very impressive statistics. So much so, in fact, that we're going to spend six months investigating just how realistic they are... 

Quick facts

Mileage: 1,759
Fuel consumption: 36.1mpg
Latest update: 1 September, 2017

Also read our full Audi A6 review


Percy Lawman’s Suzuki Ignis

Suzuki Ignis long-termer

The Suzuki Ignis has proved to be a success for its maker, as it’s cool to look at, well priced, and offering plenty of kit for the money. Does it stack up in an extended test in the hands of the Parkers team?

Read more

Quick facts

Mileage: 9,394

Fuel consumption: 60.2mpg 
Latest update: 13 September, 2017

Also read our full Suzuki Ignis review


Lawrence Cheung’s Citroen C3

While most rivals run off with a short attention span, chasing after corners, the little Citroen takes a step back with a more relaxed approach; content with arriving later and living life at a slower pace.

I certainly like that ethos in life, but will this similarity mean I’ll gel with it more than the DS 3 Cabrio?

Read more

Quick facts

Mileage: 5,458
Fuel consumption: 57.2mpg
Latest update: 13 September 2017

Also read our full Citroen C3 review


Keith WR Jones's Mercedes-Benz V-Class

Mercedes-Benz V-Class

We're testing Mercedes’ enormous V-Class MPV and its custodian, Keith WR Jones, has been luxuriating in its comfort and surprising pace.

Read more

Quick facts

Mileage: 14,251
Fuel consumption: 31.2mpg
Latest update: 12 September 2017

Also read our full Mercedes-Benz V-Class MPV review


James Dennison’s SEAT Leon ST Cupra 300

Having waved goodbye to the Ateca, James has taken on another SEAT - find out how this sportscar-slaying estate car suits us as a long-term car. 

Read more

Quick facts

Mileage: 4,969
Fuel consumption: 34.1mpg
Latest update: 07 September 2017

Read our full review of the SEAT Leon ST


Farewell report: Mike Humble’s Vauxhall Insignia

We picked up a late-model Vauxhall Insignia from our local Network Q dealer to see how it would fare as a nearly-new buy. We put the miles onto this motorway muncher, but has it been totally reliable?

Read more

Quick facts

Mileage: 15,011
Fuel consumption: 51.2mpg 
Latest update: 29 August, 2017

Also read our full Vauxhall Insignia review


Farewell report: Keith Adams’s Renault Scenic

Renault Scenic

Picked up with a few miles already on the clock, this highly stylish Honey Yellow family proved be the perfect mile-muncher for Keith Adams. It was specified in relatively modest 110hp form, but there’s still plenty of kit on board.

Read more

Quick facts

Mileage: 12,107
Fuel consumption: 50.9mpg
Latest update: 29 August 2017

Also read our full Renault Scenic review


Farewell: Chris Lloyd’s Audi A3 Saloon

Audi A3

We’re looking forward to putting miles under the super-sized 19-inch wheels of Audi’s compact executive saloon. This one comes with quattro all-wheel drive, a turbocharged 2.0-litre petrol engine, and adaptive damping. Can it really be stylish and practical? Find out in our goodbye piece. 

Quick facts

Mileage: 11,444
Fuel consumption: 33.7mpg
Latest update: 8 August, 2017

Also read our full Audi A3 review



Keith Adams's Skoda Superb Sportline Estate 280 TSI 4x4

Skoda Superb

Parkers Editor Keith is running the Skoda Superb Sportline Estate in 4x4 petrol form. Will this full-sized estate make sense without the cost advantage of diesel?

Read more

Quick facts

Mileage: 7,177
Fuel consumption: 31.1mpg
Latest update: 20 July, 2017

Also read our full review of the Skoda Superb Estate


Previously on the Parkers fleet...

Adam Binnie’s Volkswagen Touran - farewell report

Farewell to the Touran: we'll miss your massive boot.

Read more

Quick facts

Mileage: 3,626 
Fuel consumption: 41.8mpg
Latest update: 27 July 2017

Also read our full review

 


James Dennison’s SEAT Ateca – farewell report

SEAT Ateca

The Ateca is SEAT's first go at creating a family-friendly SUV. Early impressions suggest they've done a pretty good job too, what with those sharp looks and impressive levels of practicality. However, as with any family car, the proof in the pudding is what it's like to live with. Read on to find out...

Read more

Quick facts

Mileage: 10,799
Fuel consumption: 40.3mpg
Latest update: 22 June 2017 

Also read our full SEAT Ateca review


Farewell report: Toyota GT86

Toyota GT86

Toyota’s GT86 is a low-cost two-door sports car with an emphasis placed on fun. It has rear-wheel drive, fantastic handling, a pleasingly unsophisticated six-speed manual gearbox and its 2.0-litre petrol engine is powerful and exciting. 

Read more

Quick facts

Mileage: 10,006
Fuel consumption: 31.2mpg
Latest update: 20 July, 2017

Also read our full Toyota GT86 review


Lawrence Cheung’s DS 3 Cabrio

DS 3

Can you live with a canvas roof during winter? Our DS 3 Cabrio proves you can, thanks to its roof that operates with great simplicity. We’ve gone for the higher-powered 1.2-litre petrol with 130hp in mid-range Elegance trim and Whisper Purple paint.

Read more

Quick facts

Mileage: 4,210
Fuel consumption: 43.3mpg
Latest update: 10 May 2017

Also read our full DS 3 review


Farewell report: Mazda MX-5

Mazda MX-5

Our Mazda MX-5 is a limited edition Icon model, adding a raft of racy red exterior styling flourishes and a more luxurious interior to an already-stylish and desirable package.

Read more

Quick facts

Mileage: 11,073 miles
Fuel consumption: 43.4mpg
Latest update: 13 April 2017

Also read our full Mazda MX-5 review


Farewell report: Ford S-Max

Ford S-Max

Keith takes his Ford S-Max Vignale to Scotland for a farewell tour of the North Coast 500. Has the sporty/luxury MPV lived up to our expectations? We’re not in love with the white leather or running costs, but the S-Max still ticks a lot of boxes.

Read more

Quick facts

Mileage: 9,714
Fuel consumption: 25.1mpg
Latest update: 29 March 2017

Also read our full Ford S-Max review


Farewell report: Mercedes-Benz GLC

Mercedes-Benz GLC

Our Mercedes-Benz GLC is a fantastic car in many ways, packed with tech, super-comfortable on long journeys, and big enough for all the family. But it’s not what you’d call fast. As we said goodbye, what was our final verdict?

Read more

Quick facts

Mileage: 20,521
Fuel consumption: 37.1mpg
Latest update: 24 March 2017

Also read our full Mercedes-Benz GLC review


Farewell report: Audi A4 Avant

Audi A4

It's been all over Europe, and had both Adam Binnie and Keith Adams own it – and in the near-20,000 miles we covered in it in 10 months, we've come to rather like our Audi A4 Avant Quattro in TDI V6 form.

Its two owners sum-up how life with the Audi has been. Would they have another? 

Read more

Quick facts

Mileage: 19,312
Fuel consumption: 39.9mpg
Latest update: 15 February 2017

Also read our full Audi A4 review


Farewell Report: Kia Sportage GT-Line

The Sportage is undoubtedly a bargain family-friendly off-roader that will make many owners very happy. The price, equipment and – admittedly divisive – styling mean you get plenty of bang for your buck. However, it’s very hard to recommend the 1.6 T-GDI DCT petrol automatic as the engine-gearbox combination just doesn’t work well.

Read more

Quick facts

Mileage: 7,860
Fuel consumption: 31.7mpg
Latest update: 13 December 2016

Also read our full Kia Sportage review


Lawrence Cheung's Ford Fiesta Black Edition

It’s time to bid farewell to our long-term Fiesta after four months and 4,000 miles. Time flies when you’re having fun and it has felt like our time with the Black Edition has been cut somewhat short.

Read more

Quick facts

Mileage: 6,554
Fuel consumption: 38.7mpg
Latest update: 15 November 2016

Also read our full Ford Fiesta review

Sidebar Right

Choose a different car: