Parkers long-term car tests

  • Read all the latest updates from our long-term fleet of cars
  • We live with them day-to-day to really get under their skin
  • Fuel consumption carefully calculated from our real world driving
  • Read all the latest updates from our long-term fleet of cars
  • We live with them day-to-day to really get under their skin
  • Fuel consumption carefully calculated from our real world driving

The Parkers team has a fleet of cars that we use on a regular basis in order to find out exactly what they are like to live with. This gives us a deeper insight into what you can expect from ownership, highlighting any problems that only appear after several thousand miles, and what fuel economy you'll get in the real world.

Here's what we're currently driving.


What's on the long-term test fleet right now

The Parkers team’s Vauxhall Insignia

Vauxhall Insignia

We’ve picked up a late-model Vauxhall Insignia from our local Network Q dealer to see how these fare as a nearly-new buy. We’ll be putting miles onto this motorway muncher, and then trade it in for a Grand Sport later in the year.

Read more

Quick facts

Mileage: 8,438
Fuel consumption: 45.1mpg
Latest update: 18 April 2017

Also read our full Vauxhall Insignia review


Keith WR Jones’s Mercedes-Benz V-Class

Mercedes-Benz V-Class

We're testing Mercedes’ enormous V-Class MPV. Keith says: ‘There’s no escaping the V-Class’s van-based origins, but those upright lines liberate space for seven adults and their luggage in luxurious surroundings.’

Read more

Quick facts

Mileage: 885
Fuel consumption: 29.4mpg
Latest update: 11 April 2017

Also read our full Mercedes-Benz V-Class MPV review


Keith Adams’s Renault Scenic

Renault Scenic

Picked up with a few miles already on the clock, this highly stylish Honey Yellow family hold-all could be the perfect mile-muncher for Keith Adams. It’s been specified in relatively modest 110hp form, but there’s still plenty of equipment on board.

Read more

Quick facts

Mileage: 4,525
Fuel consumption: 49.1mpg
Latest update: 29 March 2017

Also read our full Renault Scenic review


Stuart Collins’s Kia Optima Sportswagon

Kia Optima

We’ve taken delivery of this stylish Kia in Sportswagon form, and our photographer Stuart is already working it hard. So far, it’s being the perfect tool for his job!

Read more

Quick facts

Mileage: 3,636
Fuel consumption: 40.0mpg
Latest update: 29 March 2017

Also read our full Kia Sportswagon review


Lawrence Cheung’s DS 3 Cabriolet

DS 3

Can you live with a canvas roof during winter? Our DS 3 Cabrio proves you can, thanks to its roof that operates with great simplicity. We’ve gone for the higher-powered 1.2-litre petrol with 130hp in mid-range Elegance trim and Whisper Purple paint.

Read more

Quick facts

Mileage: 3,813
Fuel consumption: 44.1mpg
Latest update: 13 April 2017

Also read our full DS 3 review


Sophie Knight’s Suzuki Ignis

Suzuki Ingis

The Suzuki Ignis has proved to be a success for its maker, as it’s cool to look at, well priced, and offering plenty of kit for the money. Does it stackup in an extended test in the hands of the Parkers team?

Read more

Quick facts

Mileage: 3,731
Fuel consumption: 40.8mpg
Latest update: 14 April 2017

Also read our full Suzuki Ignis review


Gareth Evans’s Toyota GT86

Toyota GT86

Toyota’s GT86 is a low-cost two-door sports car with an emphasis placed on fun. It has rear-wheel drive, fantastic handling, a pleasingly unsophisticated six-speed manual gearbox and its 2.0-litre petrol engine is powerful and exciting. 

Read more

Quick facts

Mileage: 4,267
Fuel consumption: 32.3mpg
Latest update: 14 April 2017

Also read our full Toyota GT86 review


Chris Lloyd’s Audi A3 Saloon

Audi A3

We’re looking forward to putting miles under the super-sized 19-inch wheels of Audi’s compact executive saloon. This one comes with quattro all-wheel drive, a turbocharged 2.0-litre petrol engine, and adaptive damping. Will it withstand the rigours of winter commuting? 

Quick facts

Mileage: 62
Fuel consumption: n/a
Latest update: 6 March 2017

Also read our full Audi A3 review


James Dennison's SEAT Ateca

SEAT Ateca

James reckons that our long term SEAT Ateca doesn’t like having its foglights on. His journeys into work recently have been punctuated by persistent – and irritating – dashboard warning messages and chiming sounds.

Read more

Quick facts

Mileage: 6,350
Fuel consumption: 37.8mpg
Latest update: 23 February 2017 

Also read our full SEAT Ateca review


Adam Binnie’s Volkswagen Touran

VW Touran

Adam hasn’t yet loaded up the Tour-van with numerous boxes of flat-pack for this long-term update. Instead, a whirlwind of interior decorating means it needed to transport some ladders and scaffold boards.

Read more

Quick facts

Mileage: 2,147
Fuel consumption: 41.7mpg
Latest update: 16 February 2017

Also read our full review


Previously on the Parkers fleet...

Farewell report: Mazda MX-5

Mazda MX-5

Our Mazda MX-5 is a limited edition Icon model, adding a raft of racy red exterior styling flourishes and a more luxurious interior to an already-stylish and desirable package.

Read more

Quick facts

Mileage: 11,073 miles
Fuel consumption: 43.4mpg
Latest update: 13 April 2017

Also read our full Mazda MX-5 review


Farewell report: Ford S-Max

Ford S-Max

Keith takes his Ford S-Max Vignale to Scotland for a farewell tour of the North Coast 500. Has the sporty/luxury MPV lived up to our expectations? We’re not in love with the white leather or running costs, but the S-Max still ticks a lot of boxes.

Read more

Quick facts

Mileage: 9,714
Fuel consumption: 25.1mpg
Latest update: 29 March 2017

Also read our full Ford S-Max review


Farewell report: Mercedes-Benz GLC

Mercedes-Benz GLC

Our Mercedes-Benz GLC is a fantastic car in many ways, packed with tech, super-comfortable on long journeys, and big enough for all the family. But it’s not what you’d call fast. As we said goodbye, what was our final verdict?

Read more

Quick facts

Mileage: 20,521
Fuel consumption: 37.1mpg
Latest update: 24 March 2017

Also read our full Mercedes-Benz GLC review


Farewell report: Audi A4 Avant

Audi A4

It's been all over Europe, and had both Adam Binnie and Keith Adams own it – and in the near-20,000 miles we covered in it in 10 months, we've come to rather like our Audi A4 Avant Quattro in TDI V6 form.

Its two owners sum-up how life with the Audi has been. Would they have another? 

Read more

Quick facts

Mileage: 19,312
Fuel consumption: 39.9mpg
Latest update: 15 February 2017

Also read our full Audi A4 review


Farewell Report: Kia Sportage GT-Line

The Sportage is undoubtedly a bargain family-friendly off-roader that will make many owners very happy. The price, equipment and – admittedly divisive – styling mean you get plenty of bang for your buck. However, it’s very hard to recommend the 1.6 T-GDI DCT petrol automatic as the engine-gearbox combination just doesn’t work well.

Read more

Quick facts

Mileage: 7,860
Fuel consumption: 31.7mpg
Latest update: 13 December 2016

Also read our full Kia Sportage review



Farewell Report: Ford Fiesta Black Edition

It’s time to bid farewell to our long-term Fiesta after four months and 4,000 miles. Time flies when you’re having fun and it has felt like our time with the Black Edition has been cut somewhat short.

Read more

Quick facts

Mileage: 6,554
Fuel consumption: 38.7mpg
Latest update: 15 November 2016

Also read our full Ford Fiesta review


Sidebar Right

Choose a different car: