Parkers overall rating: 4 out of 5 4.0

Miles per pound (mpp) Miles per pound (mpp)

Petrol engines 6.9 - 11.4 mpp
Diesel engines 6.5 - 11.0 mpp
Low figures relate to the least economical version; high to the most economical. Based on WLTP combined fuel economy for versions of this car made since September 2017 only, and typical current fuel or electricity costs.

Fuel economy

Petrol engines 32.5 - 53.3 mpg
Diesel engines 32.1 - 54.3 mpg
  • Most economical is the 1.6-litre TDI
  • Lowest CO2 emissions from 1.0-litre TSI
  • Holds its value well - good news when selling

If fuel consumption is your key consideration when buying a T-Roc then, with the absence of a plug-in hybrid (PHEV) model, for now, you'll have to stick with a diesel. 

Best of the bunch are lower-spec 1.6-litre TDI models returning a claimed average of 47.9.4-54.3mpg under the more rigorous WLTP testing method, although this is about to be replaced.

The more powerful 2.0-litre TDI isn't far behind at 40.9-53.3mpg. We managed to achieve an indicated 43.3-47.4mpg during our time of testing, and given it has 150hp to the 1.6's 115hp, we'd suggest that's a small price to pay for greater performance.

Best of the petrols - again, with the less expensive trim levels - is the 1.0-litre TSI posting a claimed 45.6-53.3mpg, depending on spec and gearbox. Again, the punchier 150hp 1.5-litre TSI Evo is a good compromise, with only slightly inferior figures of 41.5-47.9mpg. 

The 2.0-litre TSI 4Motion claims 34.4-40.9mpg, but it's no surprise that the T-Roc R, with 300hp on tap, posts the worst claimed economy of the range at 32.5-34.0mpg. The best figure we could achieve was 30.1mpg during our time of testing, dropping to mid- to high 20s on shorter journeys.

It's worth keeping an eye out for the newer 1.0-litre petrol and 2.0-litre diesel arriving later in 2020. The latter will replace the entry-level 1.6 TDI and both will produce different mpg figures.

With a 56-litre fuel tank, you get a good amount of range is on a diesel model heading towards 475 miles per fill up, with roughly 335 miles on the R. The diesels also come with a 12 litre Adblue tank.

CO2 emissions

No T-Roc has outstandingly good CO2 emission figures, with the 1.0-litre TSI being the least polluting at 133-144g/km, with the 1.6-litre TDI next best at 137-147g/km. At the opposite end of the scale the T-Roc R's output is 196-199g/km.

Sitting in the middle is the 1.5-litre Evo with 144-157g/km depending on spec and gearbox, and the 2.0-litre TSI 4Motion with 190hp produces between 186-188g/km. The higher-powered 2.0 TDI with 150hp emits 141-155g/km

Again, that lack of an electrification option means that the miles per pound figures aren't sparking, either with a range of 6.5 - 11.4 mpp.

It's also worth noting the updated 1.0-litre petrol and the 2.0-litre diesel replacing the entry-level 1.6 TDI will have different CO2 ratings later in 2020.

T-Roc resale values are holding up

The T-Roc benefits from decent residual values thanks to a strong brand image in the UK. They may be more dependent on spec for this car, though, as less universally appealing colour and trim combinations will put some people off buying them.

Be aware that spending thousands on a massive range of options such as large alloy wheels, adaptive suspension and an upgraded speaker system won't add a huge amount of value when you're coming to sell the car on. 

Fixed-price and Flexible servicing options are available to keep costs transparent, but it’ll work out relatively expensive if you’re used to dealing with the likes of more mainstream brands such as Vauxhall and Ford. 

How reliable is the T-Roc?

  • Many Group-wide parts used
  • Feels strong in its construction
  • Four official DVSA recalls so far

Although we weren't expecting many problems given how many parts of the T-Roc are used elsewhere within the enormous Volkswagen Group, we were disappointed to learn that so far it has been subjected to four official recalls by the DVSA vehicle inspectorate

Two of these relate to failings in the early cars' construction that needed remedying, one was about the electronic parking brake being unintentionally released, while the fourth was to do with some key safety instructions being missing from the owners' manual.

There have also been some issues with the 1.5-litre TSI Evo engine in terms of reliability, especially around a widely-reported 'kangarooing' issue in first gear. In February 2019, a spokesperson for Volkswagen said: 'Volkswagen is aware of reports from customers complaining that vehicles with the 1.5-litre TSI engine in conjunction with manual gearbox can be ‘jerky’ in the cold running phase. We are currently developing a solution to prevent these rare effects in the affected vehicles.’

For more information and user updates, visit the thread on the Volkswagen T-Roc forum.

Nevertheless, despite our frustrations with the quality of the interior plastics, everything feels well assembled on models we've tested, with no annoying squeaks or rattles with the trim.

You can also head to our Owner reviews section find out how well the T-Roc has fared for them

Ongoing running costs

Road tax (12 months) £150
Insurance group 10 - 34
How much is it to insure?