Ad closing in seconds...

Parkers long-term car tests

  • Read all the latest updates from our long-term fleet
  • We live with them to really get under their skin
  • Fuel consumption calculated from real-world driving

The Parkers team has a fleet of cars that we use on a regular basis in order to find out exactly what they are like to live with.

This gives us a deeper insight into what you can expect from ownership, highlighting any problems that only appear after several thousand miles, and what fuel economy you'll get in the real world.



What's new this week?

Mitsubishi Eclipse Cross 4 - Empty Spaces Adventure drive: Audi RS 6 Avant
Mazda 3 vs A Class



Is the Eclipse Cross remotely practical?
We're Cumbria-bound in Audi's superfast estate
Japanese hatch vs premium German

What's on the long-term test fleet right now:

Audi A5 Cabriolet Mazda 3 Mitsubishi Eclipse Cross Nissan Leaf
Nissan Micra Peugeot 308 GTi Peugeot 5008 Renault Zoe
SEAT Leon ST Skoda Kodiaq Scout Skoda Octavia vRS Estate SEAT Arona
Toyota C-HR Volvo V40 VW Caddy Maxi Life VW Transporter
Volkswagen e-Golf Suzuki Swift Sport    

Tom Goodlad's Audi A5 Cabriolet

Audi A5 Cabriolet

An Audi A5 Cabriolet has joined the Parkers fleet to make the most of the British summer. Our A5 has proven itself as a class act as it drives away with a Parkers award.

Read more

Quick facts:

  • Mileage: 6,119
  • Fuel consumption: 35.6mpg
  • Latest update: 21 September 2018

Also read our full Audi A5 Cabriolet review


Percy Lawman's SEAT Arona

SEAT Arona main tester image

SEAT's brand new Arona has joined us just as the weather starts to hot up. Follow us throught the heatwave as we get our first driving impressions of the baby SUV and we take the car on a 'Pasty Run' to Cornwall.

Read more

Quick facts:

  • Mileage: 3714
  • Average combined fuel consumption: 48.7mpg (70.6% of official mpg)
  • Latest update: 21st September 2018

Also read our full SEAT Arona review


James Dennison's Suzuki Swift Sport

Suzuki's 975kg Swift Sport joins the Parkers fleet in the capable hands of Video Manager and resident young person James Dennison. Is a lightweight performance hatch the perfect antidote in a world where cars forever seem to be getting heavier?

Read more

Quick facts:

  • Mileage: 2,340
  • Average combined fuel consumption: 34.3mpg
  • Latest update: 14 September 2018

Also read our full Suzuki Swift review


Richard Kilpatrick's Mitsubishi Eclipse Cross 4

Mitsubishi Eclipse Cross

It's a crossover that crosses many genres at once, and ticks a lot of boxes for Richard Kilpatrick - who's running our long-term Mitsubishi Eclipse Cross 4.

Finding out why this is one of the fastest-growing sectors for car manufacturers, we're also discovering what happens when masters of the off-road 4x4 go for the urban environment.

Also, it's brown.

Read more

Quick facts

  • Mileage: 2,573
  • Fuel consumption: 36.4mpg
  • Latest update: 12 September 2018

Also read our full Mitsubishi Eclipse Cross review

 


Richard Kilpatrick's approved-used Volvo V40

Volvo V40

We're taking on an Approved Used Volvo V40 to run on a long-term basis. It was supplied via the Volvo Selekt programme, which promises to treat used car owners the same as new ones. Let's see if that's actually the case.

Read more

Quick facts

  • Mileage: 20,574
  • Fuel consumption: 54.3mpg
  • Latest update: 10 September 2018

Also read our full Volvo V40 review


 Keith Adams's Volkswagen e-Golf

Volkswagen e-Golf long-term test

The third electric car on the Parkers fleet gets pressed into service. It's smooth, refined and very grown up. But does it stack up as a daily driver?

Read more

Quick facts:

  • Mileage: 1,035
  • Average combined fuel consumption: N/A
  • Latest update: 3 September 2018

 



 

 Gareth Evans's VW Caddy Maxi Life

VW Caddy Maxi Life

We take delivery of van-based seven-seat Caddy Maxi Life, and immediately wonder how much more practical a small car could possibly be.

Read more

Quick facts:

  • Mileage: 0
  • Average combined fuel consumption: NA
  • Latest update: 15 August 2018

Also read our full VW Caddy Life review

Adam Binnie's Skoda Octavia vRS Estate

Skoda Octavia vRS Estate

What exactly is a Skoda Octavia vRS Estate and how does it fit into the range? What engines and tech can you get? We find out.

Read more

Quick facts:

  • Mileage: 466
  • Average combined fuel consumption: 28.5mpg
  • Latest update: 14 August 2018

Also read our full Skoda Octavia vRS Estate review


Christofer Lloyd's Mazda 3 Sport Black

Mazda 3 long-term report

The Mazda 3 is one of the most underrated medium hatchbacks, but has it got what it takes to warrant your money when there are so many appealing alternatives? We're living with this sensible and affordable 2.0 120hp petrol Mazda 3 Sport Black for three months to see if it's up to scratch.

Read more

Quick facts:

  • Mileage: 2,010
  • Fuel consumption: 42.3mpg
  • Latest update: 14 August 2018

Also read our full Mazda 3 review


Adam Binnie's Skoda Kodiaq Scout

Skoda Kodiaq Scout

What options should you add to your Skoda Kodiaq Scout? We examine what we selected and what we'd have liked to pick.

Read more

Quick facts

  • Mileage: 5,001
  • Fuel consumption: 37.1mpg
  • Latest update: 21 June 2018

Also read our full Skoda Kodiaq review


Lawrence Cheung's Peugeot 308 GTi

Peugeot 308 GTi

While my long-termer is off to have its nose repaired, we’ve had a more typical 308 hatchback in as a substitute. While the 308 hatchback is generally a pretty good all-rounder, I'm definitely missing a number of things  in the absence of the GTi.

Read more

Quick facts

  • Mileage: 1,277
  • Fuel consumption: 32.3mpg
  • Latest update: 04 July 2018

Also read our full Peugeot 308 review


Gareth Evans's Toyota C-HR Excel Hybrid

Toyota C-HR

The Parkers Car of the Year has been put into action on the airport run, and our man discovers a few foibles in an otherwise impressive package.

Read more

Quick facts:

  • Mileage: 7,848
  • Fuel consumption: 49.5mpg
  • Latest update: 26 June 2018

Also read our full Toyota C-HR review


Keith WR Jones's Nissan Leaf

Nissan Leaf with Keith WR Jones

How easy is it to live with an electric car when your commute's 76 miles each-way? 

Read more

Quick facts

  • Mileage: 792
  • Fuel consumption: 0.30kWh/mile
  • Latest update: 26 June 2018

Also read our full Nissan Leaf hatchback review


Keith WR Jones's Peugeot 5008

Peugeot 5008

Can Peugeot's off-road-a-like seven-seater convince perennial crossover naysayer Keith WR Jones?

Read more

Quick facts

  • Mileage: 3,015
  • Fuel consumption: 34.9mpg
  • Latest update: 4 June 2018

Also read our full Peugeot 5008 review


Stuart Collin's SEAT Leon ST

SEAT Leon ST

How much photography kit can you fit in the back of a SEAT Leon ST estate? Oh and leave some room for a couple of guitars too. Our bootspace expert Stu Collins has high expectations of this one.

Read more

Quick facts

  • Mileage: 6,075
  • Fuel consumption: 51.3mpg
  • Latest update: 29 May 2018

Also read our full SEAT Leon ST review


CJ Hubbard's Renault Zoe

Renault Zoe

Renault's all-electric small hatchback. Based on the Clio, the French company claims it does 250 miles per charge in its labratory tests. We're here to find out just how realistic that is, and what life's like post petrol.

Read more

Quick facts

  • Mileage: 2,000
  • Battery range: 138 of 174 miles, 79% range
  • Latest update: 16 May 2018

Also read our full Renault Zoe review


CJ Hubbard's VW Transporter

VW Transporter

Vans Editor CJ gets to grips with a petrol-powered, five-seat VW van with a surprising amount of horsepower. We've finished the running-in period, so it's time to discover if life will be rosy now we've ditched diesel commercial vehicles.

Read more

Quick facts

  • Mileage: 4,500
  • Fuel consumption: 19mpg
  • Latest update: 4 May 2018

Also read our full VW Transporter review


Parkers Adventure Drives

Packing as many miles into a test car as the manufacturer will allow - because sometimes to get a proper handle you need a decent road trip.


Audi RS 6 Avant

Editor Keith Adams takes Audi's super estate for a valedictory blast on the challenging, and often mountainous roads of Cumbria. Can the RS 6's impending replacement improve on what is already a technically flawless car?

READ MORE


Previously on the Parkers fleet...


Audi A3 Saloon

Audi A3 Saloon

Audi A4 Avant

Audi A4 Avant

Audi A6

Audi A6

Audi Q5

Audi Q5

 

Audi Q7

Audi Q7

BMW 4 Series

BMW 4 Series Gran Coupe

Citroen C3

Citroen C3

Citroen C4 Cactus

Citroen C4 Cactus

DS 3 Cabrio

DS 3 Cabriolet

Ford Edge

Ford Edge

Ford Fiesta Black Edition

Ford Fiesta Black Edition

Ford Fiesta Titanium

Ford Fiesta Titanium

Ford Focus RS

Ford Focus RS

Ford Mondeo

Ford Mondeo

Ford S-Max

Ford S-Max

Honda Civic

Honda Civic

Kia Optima Sportswagon

Kia Optima Sportswagon

Kia Sportage

Kia Sportage

Mercedes-Benz GLC

Mercedes-Benz GLC

Mazda CX-5

Mazda CX-5

Mercedes Benz S-Class

Mercedes-Benz S-Class

Mercedes-Benz V-Class

Mercedes-Benz S-Class

MINI Countryman

MINI Countryman

Nissan Micra

Nissan Micra

Range Rover Evoque

Range Rover Evoque

Renault Scenic

Renault Scenic

SEAT Ibiza

SEAT Ibiza FR

SEAT Ateca

SEAT Ateca

SEAT Leon ST Cupra

SEAT Leon ST Cupra

Skoda Superb Estate

Skoda Superb Estate

Suzuki Ignis

Suzuki Ignis

Suzuki Swift

Suzuki Swift

Subaru Forester

Subaru Forester

Toyota GT86

Toyota GT86

Vauxhall Astra

Vauxhall Astra Sports Tourer

Vauxhall Insignia Sports Tourer

Vauxhall Insignia Sports Tourer

Vauxhall Insignia

Vauxhall Insignia

Volkswagen Golf GTE

VW Golf GTE

Volkswagen Touran

VW Touran

VW Golf

VW Golf

VW Passat

VW Passat

 
  • Tester fuel consumption: 53mpg

Sidebar Right

Choose a different car: