Advert loading

Parkers long-term car tests

  • Read all the latest updates from our long-term fleet
  • We live with them to really get under their skin
  • Fuel consumption calculated from real-world driving
  • Read all the latest updates from our long-term fleet
  • We live with them to really get under their skin
  • Fuel consumption calculated from real-world driving

The Parkers team has a fleet of cars that we use on a regular basis in order to find out exactly what they are like to live with.

This gives us a deeper insight into what you can expect from ownership, highlighting any problems that only appear after several thousand miles, and what fuel economy you'll get in the real world.


What's on the long-term test fleet right now:

Skoda Kodiaq Scout Renault Zoe SEAT Ibiza Vauxhall Insignia Sports Tourer
MINI Countryman VW Golf GTE Suzuki Swift Nissan Micra
Subaru Forester Toyota C-HR Citroen C3 Mercedes-Benz S-Class
Mazda CX-5 Audi A6 Volvo V40 VW Transporter

 

 Adam Binnie’s Volkswagen Golf GTE

Is it worth raiding the VW accessories brochure for an Isofix child seat or getting one from the High Street? We find out...

Read more

Quick facts

  • Mileage: 8,053 miles  
  • Fuel consumption: 42.9mpg 
  • Latest update: 19 February 2018

Also read our full review


 Keith WR Jones's approved-used Mercedes-Benz S-Class

Mercedes-Benz S-Class

We're putting a used example of our reigning Luxury Car of the Year - Mercedes’ sumptuous S-Class Saloon - through its paces over six months.

Read more

Quick facts

  • Mileage: 6,850 
  • Fuel consumption: 34.6mpg 
  • Latest update: 19 February 2018

Also read our full Mercedes-Benz S-Class Saloon review


 Toyota C-HR Excel Hybrid

Toyota C-HR joins the Parkers fleet

The Parkers Car of the Year is the latest vehicle to join our fleet. It's a futuristic hybrid with lots of kit and a distinctive design, but how's it likely to fare in the long-term? We're going to spend six months finding out.

Quick facts:

  • Mileage: 3,728
  • Fuel consumption: 46.1mpg
  • Latest update: 14 February 2018

Also read our full Toyota C-HR review


 

 Adam Binnie's Skoda Kodiaq Scout

A survivalist-spec Skoda Kodiaq Scout has arrived on the fleet, promising to bring all manner of adventure and off-road capability to our early morning nursery runs.

Quick facts

  • Deliver mileage: 141
  • Fuel consumption: n/a 
  • Latest update: 13 February 2018

Also read our full Skoda Kodiaq review


 CJ Hubbard's Renault Zoe

Renault Zoe

Renault's all-electric small hatchback makes its first . Based on the Clio, the French company claims it does 250 miles per charge in its labratory tests. We're here to find out just how realistic that is, and what life's like post petrol. 

Quick facts

  • Mileage: 597
  • Fuel consumption: n/a 
  • Latest update: 9 February 2018

Also read our full Renault Zoe review


 Stuart Collins' Subaru Forester XE Premium Lineartronic

Subaru Forester XE Premium Long Term test - 30.6 mpg

Keeping our photographer on the road, Subaru's mid-sized Forester estate joins the long-term fleet in XE Premium guise, with a 150hp petrol engine and CVT gearbox.

Quick facts

  • Mileage: 3,981
  • Fuel consumption: 30.6mpg
  • Latest update: 9 February 2018

Also read our full Subaru Forester review


 Mike Humble's Vauxhall Insignia Sports Tourer

Vauxhall Insignia Sports Tourer long-term test

The company-car friendly Vauxhall has been designed to be a brilliant company car. We've chosen the Tech Line Nav model in which to spend our time in for six months to see how effortlessly it racks up those motorway miles.

Read more

Quick facts

  • Mileage: 3,307
  • Fuel consumption: 46.0
  • Latest update: 09 February 2018

Also read our full Vauxhall Insignia Sports Tourer review

 Peter Allen's Nissan Micra

Nissan has launched a car that is visibly larger than it’s predecessor and considerably sharper-looking too. Can it mix it with the best in this very competitive supermini market? We’ll be pushing our Micra to the limit in the coming months to see how it shapes up...

Read more

Quick facts

  • Mileage: 1,874
  • Fuel consumption: 46.2mpg 
  • Latest update: 9 February 2018

Also read our full Nissan Micra review

 James Dennison's SEAT Ibiza

A Parkers Awards winner joins the long-term fleet under the wing of resident young person and SEAT Ibiza aficionado James Dennison. This week, we take a look at how much it'll actually cost you to finance an Ibiza over the course of three years, and how it compares to its rivals. You may be suprised at the results...

Read more

Quick facts

  • Mileage: 6,357 
  • Fuel consumption: 45.3mpg 
  • Latest update: 7 February 2018

Also read our full SEAT Ibiza review


 Percy Lawman's Suzuki Swift SZ5

Suzuki Swift long-term test

The new 2017 Suzuki Swift joins us in the midst of winter. We've chosen the SZ5 1.2 Dualjet Hybrid SHVS 4x4 ALLGRIP model. Follow our progress as we put the Swift to the ultimate test.

Read more

Quick facts

  • Mileage: 5812
  • Fuel consumption: 54.9mpg 
  • Latest update: February 8th 2018

Also read our full Suzuki Swift review


 Tom Goodlad's MINI Cooper Countryman

MINI's biggest model is aiming for the lifestyle vote, but can a front-wheel drive SUV really cut the mustard? This week, we've been on adventure with our newly-fitted bike rack. Just how easy is it to use?

Quick facts

  • Mileage: 8,385 miles
  • Fuel consumption: 36.4mpg
  • Latest update: 08 February 2018

Also read our full MINI Countryman SUV review


 Richard Kilpatrick's approved-used Volvo V40

Volvo V40 used long-term test

We're taking on an Approved Used Volvo V40 to run on a long-term basis. It was supplied via the Volvo Selekt programme, which promises to treat used car owners the same as new ones. Let's see if that's actually the case.

Quick facts

  • Mileage: 15,831
  • Fuel consumption: 50.2mpg
  • Latest update: 1 February 2018

Also read our full Volvo V40 review


 Lawrence Cheung’s Citroen C3

While most rivals run off with a short attention span, chasing after corners, the little Citroen takes a step back with a more relaxed approach; content with arriving later and living life at a slower pace.

I certainly like that ethos in life, but will this similarity mean I’ll gel with it more than the DS 3 Cabrio?

Read more

Quick facts

  • Mileage: 8,382
  • Fuel consumption: 50.6mpg 
  • Latest update: 25 January 2018

Also read our full Citroen C3 review


 Gareth Evans’s Audi A6 Saloon

Audi A6 saloon 3.0 TDI V6 Quattro Black Edition long-term review

The A6 may be a relatively old model, but it boasts some very impressive statistics. So much so, in fact, that we're going to spend six months investigating just how realistic they are...

Quick facts

  • Mileage: 8,182 
  • Fuel consumption: 33.4mpg 
  • Latest update: 24 January 2018

Also read our full Audi A6 review


 CJ Hubbard's VW Transporter

Volkswagen Transporter long-term test review

Vans Editor CJ gets to grips with a petrol-powered, five-seat VW van with a surprising amount of horsepower. We've finished the running-in period, so it's time to discover if life will be rosy now we've ditched diesel commercial vehicles.

Quick facts

  • Mileage: 1,393
  • Fuel consumption: 25.2mpg 
  • Latest update: 12 January 2018

Also read our full VW Transporter review


 Christofer Lloyd's Mazda CX-5

Mazda CX-5

We're running the new version of Mazda's popular CX-5 off-roader to see how it stacks up. Christofer Lloyd will be sussing out how it compares with the tranche of rival SUVs on sale.

Read more

Quick facts

  • Mileage: 7,284 
  • Fuel consumption: 43.3mpg 
  • Latest update: 15 December 2017

Also read our full Mazda CX-5 SUV review


Previously on the Parkers fleet...

Keith Adams's Skoda Superb Sportline Estate 280 TSI 4x4

Skoda Superb

Parkers Editor Keith is running the Skoda Superb Sportline Estate in 4x4 petrol form. Will this full-sized estate make sense without the cost advantage of diesel?

Read more

Quick facts

  • Mileage: 20,500
  • Fuel consumption: 30.7mpg 
  • Latest update: 04 December 2017

Also read our full review of the Skoda Superb Estate


Percy Lawman's Suzuki Ignis

Suzuki Ignis long-termer

The Suzuki Ignis has proved to be a success for its maker, as it’s cool to look at, well priced, and offering plenty of kit for the money. Does it stack up in an extended test in the hands of the Parkers team?

Read more

Quick facts

  • Mileage: 11,005
  • Final Fuel consumption: 61.6mpg  
  • Latest update: 28 November 2017

Also read our full Suzuki Ignis review


Keith WR Jones's Mercedes-Benz V-Class

Mercedes-Benz V-Class

We're testing Mercedes’ enormous V-Class MPV and its custodian, Keith WR Jones, has been luxuriating in its comfort and surprising pace.

Read more

Quick facts

  • Mileage: 20,473 
  • Fuel consumption: 31.6mpg 
  • Latest update: 21 November 2017

Also read our full Mercedes-Benz V-Class MPV review


Mike Humble’s Vauxhall Astra

Vauxhall Astra 136 SRiNav

With so much focus on specialised cars, nothing typifies 'family hatchback' like a Vauxhall Astra - this well-equipped five-door sits in the middle of the range with a 136hp diesel and SRi Nav trim. How is 'high-mileage Mike' finding it?

Read more

Quick facts

  • Mileage: 4,400 
  • Fuel consumption: 70.5mpg  
  • Latest update: 21 November 2017

Also read our full Vauxhall Astra review

James Dennison’s SEAT Leon ST Cupra 300

Having waved goodbye to the Ateca, James has taken on another SEAT - find out how this sportscar-slaying estate car suits us as a long-term car. 

Read more

Quick facts

  • Mileage: 6,876 
  • Fuel consumption: 33.0mpg
  • Final update: 25 October 2017

Read our full review of the SEAT Leon ST


Tom Goodlad's Honda Civic

After six months with the Civic on our fleet, has it convinced us that it should on your shortlist if you're looking for a family hatchback with a wide range of talents? 

Read more

Quick facts

  • Mileage: 6,500 miles 
  • Fuel consumption: 40.9mpg 
  • Final update: 01 November 2017

Also read our full review of the Honda Civic
Stuart Collins’s Kia Optima Sportswagon

Kia Optima

We’ve taken delivery of this stylish Kia in Sportswagon form, and our photographer Stuart is already working it hard. So far, it’s being the perfect tool for his job!

Read more

Quick facts

  • Mileage: 14,556 
  • Fuel consumption: 46.0mpg 
  • Final update: 15 September 2017

Also read our full Kia Sportswagon review


Mike Humble’s Vauxhall Insignia

We picked up a late-model Vauxhall Insignia from our local Network Q dealer to see how it would fare as a nearly-new buy. We put the miles onto this motorway muncher, but has it been totally reliable?

Read more

Quick facts

  • Mileage: 15,011 
  • Fuel consumption: 51.2mpg  
  • Final update: 29 August, 2017

Also read our full Vauxhall Insignia review


Chris Lloyd’s Audi A3 Saloon

Audi A3

We’re looking forward to putting miles under the super-sized 19-inch wheels of Audi’s compact executive saloon. This one comes with quattro all-wheel drive, a turbocharged 2.0-litre petrol engine, and adaptive damping. Can it really be stylish and practical? Find out in our goodbye piece. 

Quick facts

  • Mileage: 11,444 
  • Fuel consumption: 33.7mpg 
  • Final update: 8 August, 2017

Also read our full Audi A3 review


Keith Adams’s Renault Scenic

Renault Scenic

Picked up with a few miles already on the clock, this highly stylish Honey Yellow family proved be the perfect mile-muncher for Keith Adams. It was specified in relatively modest 110hp form, but there’s still plenty of kit on board.

Read more

Quick facts

  • Mileage: 12,107
     
  • Fuel consumption: 50.9mpg 
  • Final update: 29 August 2017

Also read our full Renault Scenic review


Adam Binnie’s Volkswagen Touran

Farewell to the Touran: we'll miss your massive boot.

Read more

Quick facts

  • Mileage: 3,626  
  • Fuel consumption: 41.8mpg 
  • Final update: 27 July 2017

Also read our full review


James Dennison’s SEAT Ateca – farewell report

SEAT Ateca

The Ateca is SEAT's first go at creating a family-friendly SUV. Early impressions suggest they've done a pretty good job too, what with those sharp looks and impressive levels of practicality. However, as with any family car, the proof in the pudding is what it's like to live with. Read on to find out...

Read more

Quick facts

  • Mileage: 10,799 
  • Fuel consumption: 40.3mpg 
  • Final update: 22 June 2017 

Also read our full SEAT Ateca review


Farewell report: Toyota GT86

Toyota GT86

Toyota’s GT86 is a low-cost two-door sports car with an emphasis placed on fun. It has rear-wheel drive, fantastic handling, a pleasingly unsophisticated six-speed manual gearbox and its 2.0-litre petrol engine is powerful and exciting. 

Read more

Quick facts

  • Mileage: 10,006 
  • Fuel consumption: 31.2mpg
     
  • Final update: 20 July 2017

Also read our full Toyota GT86 review


Lawrence Cheung’s DS 3 Cabrio

DS 3

Can you live with a canvas roof during winter? Our DS 3 Cabrio proves you can, thanks to its roof that operates with great simplicity. We’ve gone for the higher-powered 1.2-litre petrol with 130hp in mid-range Elegance trim and Whisper Purple paint.

Read more

Quick facts

  • Mileage: 4,210 
  • Fuel consumption: 43.3mpg 
  • Final update: 10 May 2017

Also read our full DS 3 review


Tom Goodlad's: Mazda MX-5

Mazda MX-5

Our Mazda MX-5 is a limited edition Icon model, adding a raft of racy red exterior styling flourishes and a more luxurious interior to an already-stylish and desirable package.

Read more

Quick facts

  • Mileage: 11,073 miles 
  • Fuel consumption: 43.4mpg 
  • Final update: 13 April 2017

Also read our full Mazda MX-5 review


Farewell report: Ford S-Max

Ford S-Max

Keith takes his Ford S-Max Vignale to Scotland for a farewell tour of the North Coast 500. Has the sporty/luxury MPV lived up to our expectations? We’re not in love with the white leather or running costs, but the S-Max still ticks a lot of boxes.

Read more

Quick facts

  • Mileage: 9,714 
  • Fuel consumption: 25.1mpg 
  • Final update: 29 March 2017

Also read our full Ford S-Max review


Farewell report: Mercedes-Benz GLC

Mercedes-Benz GLC

Our Mercedes-Benz GLC is a fantastic car in many ways, packed with tech, super-comfortable on long journeys, and big enough for all the family. But it’s not what you’d call fast. As we said goodbye, what was our final verdict?

Read more

Quick facts

  • Mileage: 20,521
  • Fuel consumption: 37.1mpg
  • Final update: 24 March 2017

Also read our full Mercedes-Benz GLC review


Farewell report: Audi A4 Avant

Audi A4

It's been all over Europe, and had both Adam Binnie and Keith Adams own it – and in the near-20,000 miles we covered in it in 10 months, we've come to rather like our Audi A4 Avant Quattro in TDI V6 form.

Its two owners sum-up how life with the Audi has been. Would they have another? 

Read more

Quick facts

  • Mileage: 19,312 
  • Fuel consumption: 39.9mpg 
  • Final update: 15 February 2017

Also read our full Audi A4 review


Chris Lloyd's Kia Sportage GT-Line

The Sportage is undoubtedly a bargain family-friendly off-roader that will make many owners very happy. The price, equipment and – admittedly divisive – styling mean you get plenty of bang for your buck. However, it’s very hard to recommend the 1.6 T-GDI DCT petrol automatic as the engine-gearbox combination just doesn’t work well.

Read more

Quick facts

  • Mileage: 7,860 
  • Fuel consumption: 31.7mpg  
  • Final update: 13 December 2016

Also read our full Kia Sportage review


Lawrence Cheung's Ford Fiesta Black Edition

It’s time to bid farewell to our long-term Fiesta after four months and 4,000 miles. Time flies when you’re having fun and it has felt like our time with the Black Edition has been cut somewhat short.

Read more

Quick facts

  • Mileage: 6,554 
  • Fuel consumption: 38.7mpg
  • Final update: 15 November 2016

Also read our full Ford Fiesta review


Citroen C4 Cactus

While it doesn't stylistically reference any Citroens of old, the C4 Cactus is self-evidently idiosyncratic – those industrial-strength bubble wrap AirBump panels along the body sides are complemented by similar inserts in the bumpers, the black plastic wheel arch extensions and tailgate plinth.

Read more

Quick facts

  • Mileage: 7,621 
  • Fuel consumption: 52.2mpg  
  • Final update: 25 April 2016

Also read our full Citroen C4 Cactus review

Sidebar Right

Choose a different car: